A sense of accomplishment…

I am a big list person.  The more lists the better!  Sticky notes, scrap paper, writing on the back of a bank slip…I am constantly swimming in them.  The best feeling comes when I can cross off completed tasks and toss the note.

Pick up milk (check)

Submit article to Examiner (check)

Write story for contest at the Gazette (check)

Of course, for every item checked, there is another to take its place.  At the beginning of the week, my lists engulfed me.  I didn’t know where to begin and which item to tackle first.  Should I finish reading the book that I borrowed in order to pass it to the next person waiting to read it?  Do I finish editing my friend’s memoir knowing that she is currently working on the revisions and could use my input immediately?  When am I going to post a new blog?  Thinking about a NaNoWriMo contest idea that came to me at a red light.  Should I sit down to outline it now, before November?  Having edited three new articles for Examiner, when should I post them and will I have time to promote them?  Bought my new book with agent info.  When will I have time to dig through it and begin writing my second batch of query letters for my picture book?  Blah, blah, blah… 

In addition to all of this writing madness, I am juggling a  full-time job, schlepping the kids to and from school open house meetings to dance class while trying to make time to get to the gym and schedule a date with my husband.  Am I trying to be superwoman?  Nope.  Although my stress headaches and muscle pain will tell you different.  I’m simply an overextended gal with a penchant for biting off more than I can chew and thriving on it!  I hate being idle.  I despise being bored.  I am constantly in motion, without any diagnosis of ADHD for that matter.  I love to be challenged and am really proud that I have accomplished so much in such a short amount of time.  I get inspirational emails from my uber-proud hubby who gives me creative breathing room and actually enjoys reading the things that I write.  I get warm, squishy hugs from my girls as they send me off to writing class with sticky kisses and prompts to “write a good story tonight Mom”. 

I am loving this journey.  I am loving the challenges that I find everyday.  I am loving the folks that I am meeting through website interactions and classes.  I am loving that people consider me to be a writer.  And I am loving the sense of accomplishment that comes with every finished project or deadline.  (self-inflicted or otherwise)

Leave a Reply

